20th June 2015

Geoff the Ref Memorial Tournament

Tournament Information

Teams | Results | Photos | Stats

All Time Stats

Hall of Fame | Form | Stars

Previous Tournaments

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014
2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010

Geoff the Ref Memorial 2015

Geoff the Ref This tournament is becoming increasingly more competitive as the years continue and it was great to see 15 teams competing which included a new category of men's over 35s. A total of 7 new teams registered and we hope everyone had a good time and will be back again next year! Yet again, we had excellent weather on the day and at times teams found the heat quite stifling!

On a day when we remembered Geoff the Ref, it was even more poignant with the heartbreaking tragedy in Berkeley which effected so many people on Tuesday leading up to the event; just another reminder that we should make the most of the time we have been given.

Group 1: winners from 2013 Rocco Rovers never seemed to get going and suffered defeats at the hands of new boys Sauce Pan Celtic and Imperium FC. The Geofferees got off to a great start in their opening match winning 1-0 versus Imperium FC but were caught out by Sauce Pan Celtic losing 3-6. With Geofferees drawing their final game, Imperium FC topped the group with a narrow 2-1 victory over Sauce Pan Celtic.

Group 2: the group of death with last year's top 3 all in the same group! Sallynoggin edged out FC Miracle in the opening encounter and with tempers fraying, both teams were reminded that the event is a memorial tournament and it should be played in the right spirit. Sallynoggin made it 2 from 2 when they beat Rage Squad 4-2 and eventually finished top of the group following a 2-2 draw with Bersearkers Team Carlow. FC Miracle took second place following a 4-4 draw with Rage Squad edging ahead on goals scored.

Group 3: with 3 new teams in this group, after two games, Azteca and Keepitonthedeck were level on points with 4 each following a win and a draw. So the outcome of this final group match was key in determining top spot. Keepitonthedeck won by the odd goal eliminating Azteca. Latin Kings grabbed 2nd spot thanks to a bonus point with a 4-0 thumping in their final game against Scrapheap FC.

Group 4: the men's over 35s competition was enjoyed by 3 teams and it was Dun Argyle, Runners-up from 2011, who won all of their matches to finish top of the group. The matches were close, but the difference was Seb Perciavalle in goal for Dun Argyle who only conceded 5 goals in four matches. Werder Braymen narrowly beat Giltspur Sociopaths on both occasions to finish 2nd.

Trophy: Azteca withdrew from the competition after the group stage and therefore Bersearkers Team Carlow were awarded a 3-0 win and progressed through to the Trophy Final. In the other semi-final, Scrapheap FC scored at will beating Rocco Rovers by a comfortable 6 goals to 1, however, in the final they were outshot by one goal losing 4-5 to Bersearkers Team Carlow.

Plate: a bit of a mix up on who should have progressed through to the Plate/Cup meant some semis were incorrectly assigned. Imperium FC who actually won Group 1 should have gone through to the Cup competition - nobody noticed until after their Plate semi-final defeat against Rage Squad. Sauce Pan Celtic who came 2nd should have progressed instead of FC Miracle - but lost their Cup semi-final match and so were switched with with Imperium FC in the 3rd place match! In the other Plate semi, Latin Kings beat the Geofferees 2-1 to join Rage Squad in the final. After a 3-3 draw, the match was decided on penalties with Darragh Robinson, Ross Zambra and Ciaron Burke converting!

Cup: so with Sauce Pan Celtic losing out to FC Miracle in the first semi 7-3, Sallynoggin joined them in the final after beating Keepitonthedeck 4-3. Both 3rd place and cup final were keenly contested. Imperium FC claimed bronze medals following a 4-2 victory against Keepitonthedeck; following an impressive hat-trick by Liam Byrne. The Cup was won by FC Miracle who managed to hold onto a slender 1 nil advantage; the goal scored by Zoltan Toth!

Darragh Robinson was crowned Top Goalscorer for the 2nd time following his 7-goal haul; he previously won it in 2011. Seb Perciavalle was named Best Goalkeeper with his impressive work between the sticks, only conceding 5 goals in 4 games! There were a few nominations for Player of the Tournament, but Liam Byrne from Imperium FC was awarded the title thanks to his 3rd place final performance.

FAQs | Terms and Conditions | Testimonials | Privacy | Insurance | First Aid | Site Map

Football, Hockey, Dodgeball, Running and other Tournaments
Numerous venues from Barcelona to Bratislava, Dublin, Lisbon, Madrid and Prague.
More venues and tournaments added when appropriate.

Copyright © 2010–2019 Tournament Heaven. All Rights Reserved.

Website by Albatross Web Design