Geoff the Ref - 21st June 2014

Geoff the Ref Memorial Tournament

2014 Tournament Information

Teams | Results | Photos | Stats

All Time Stats

Hall of Fame | Form | Stars

Previous Tournaments

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014
2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010

Geoff the Ref Memorial 2014

Geoff the Ref With the World Cup in full swing over in Brazil, it felt like we had a bit of the samba spirit here in Dublin as the weather was baking and there was a full-size 24-carat goal World Cup trophy on display! For the first time in the history of the tournament, a total of 10 teams competed for honours with new teams coming from Carlow, Cork and more locally Newpark!

In group I, Newpark and Sallynoggin were the teams that started off the brightest with 2 wins from 2. However, Dun Argyle with 1 defeat and 2 draws were then given a lifeline for progression into the Cup as they picked off a 3-1 win against Newpark in their final match; the opening goal thanks to a defensive error between defender and goalkeeper. With this defeat, Newpark restored faith as they then turned over Sallynoggin 2-1 to claim top spot in the group. Berserkers Team Carlow finished 4th following a narrow 2-1 win over Team Slovakia who then had to settle for 5th place.

Group II featured both finalists from last year along with a Hungarian outfit who had travelled from Cork for the day. Though it was 2011 winners Rage Squad, revamped with a few choice new signings most notably League of Ireland player Ross Zambra, who stormed to 4 wins from 4. While Latin Kings were left with no subs due to late pull-outs, they certainly found the going tough and lost all of their matches finishing bottom of the group. Holders Rocco Rovers were edged out in a couple of games and in their final league game were beaten by the Geofferees 2-1 to see the latter qualify ahead of them. New side FC Miracle impressed with three wins only to lose their final group match against Rage Squad by the odd goal.

In the Plate semis finals, Berserkers Team Carlow were awarded a walkover as Latin Kings, due to a lack of subs, were unable to continue in the competition and so the Berserkers proceeded through to the Plate final. In the other semi-final, Team Slovakia, who had lost 3 and drawn 1 in the group, beat Rocco Rovers 3-1 and also progressed to the final. Team Slovakia, propelled on by their semi-final win, then beat the Berserkers in the final to claim their first trophy since they won the inaugural tournament in 2010.

By winning their respective groups, Newpark FC and Rage Squad advanced directly through to the semi-finals. Dun Argyle played off against FC Miracle and Sallynoggin played the Geofferees in the quarters to find out who would advance. Unfortunately for Dun Argyle, they lost their rock at the back in the form of goalkeeper Seb Perciavalle, who had to leave to run trials for a new Futsal team (Saints and Scholars) and the side soon found themselves 4-0 down. Despite pulling back a couple of well worked goals to make it 4-2, FC Miracle sealed the match with a fifth goal in the closing minutes. The Geofferees, following a valiant performance in the group scoring 9 goals and conceding 1 in their final two games, were knocked out of the cup by Sallynoggin 2-0 in a close encounter.

Rage Squad booked their final berth following a comfortable 4-1 victory against Sallynoggin while FC Miracle edged out the younger Newpark FC by the odd goal winning 3-2. So the 3rd place match saw Newpark play-off against Sallynoggin again. In the group, Newpark picked off a narrow 2-1 win and it was to be another closely fought match, however this time the game ended 3-3 and it was Sallynoggin's captain Ian Mahon who popped up to score the Golden Goal winner. The final was a match-up between FC Miracle and Rage Squad and it was a chance for FC Miracle to rectify the defeat they had suffered in the group, however, Rage Squad had their sights set on the trophy and following a tense start, got their opening goal. Rage Squad continued to add to their tally as FC Miracle faded and ran out 5-0 winners! Goal of the day was scored by Conor Robinson who scored a looping header which was identical to the goal Van Persie scored against the Spanish.

Many thanks to the team of referees (Chris, Tony, Brian and Arturs). We look forward to seeing you back again next year! The tournament's stars of the day were as follows:
    Best Goalkeeper: Mark Malone (Rage Squad)
    Golden Boot: Ross Zambra (Rage Squad)
    Player of the Tournament: Ian Mahon (Sallynoggin)

FAQs | Terms and Conditions | Testimonials | Privacy | Insurance | First Aid | Site Map

Football, Hockey, Dodgeball, Running and other Tournaments
Numerous venues from Barcelona to Bratislava, Dublin, Lisbon, Madrid and Prague.
More venues and tournaments added when appropriate.

Copyright © 2010–2019 Tournament Heaven. All Rights Reserved.

Website by Albatross Web Design