Dublin - 3rd September 2011

Dublin Tournament

Further Information

Teams | Results | Photos | Stats

Dublin Tournament Partners

Harbor Bar & Grill

Dublin Tournament Sponsors


All Time Stats

Hall of Fame | Form | Stars

Previous Tournaments

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014
2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010


Despite 3 teams pulling out of the competition days before the event, 7 teams participated in the 2nd Dublin event held at DLR Leisure Services Monkstown. We have received a lot of positive feedback and invite further feedback via our contact form.

Many thanks to Tournament Partners Harbor Bar & Grill for letting us host the awards cermony at their premises. Further thanks goes to Tesco for their generous support in providing drinks and snacks for the players. The Harbor Bar & Grill and Grandstand also kindly donated prizes for the raffle.

In Group II, Dun Argyle were the first side to win on the day with a 5-1 win against Brian Corbett PI, however they were soon brought down to earth with a bump when they lost their next two group games 3-4 and 9-4. Rage Squad completed their group games comfortably winning all 3 and scoring 20 goals in the process. The final game in Group II added a twist as Brian Corbett PI won their final game against Stewarts Hospital setting up a three way tie for 2nd place; all teams having won 1 and lost 2. Goal difference decided it and it was Dun Argyle who progressed to the Finals ahead of Stewarts Hospital by a goal.

Group I was contested by only 3 teams. After an opening draw between Newpark Rovers and Monkstown Warriors, St Michaels secured a cruicial 3-2 win against the team that finished 4th last year. The final group game between St Michaels and Monkstown Warriors was won by Monkstown which meant they finished 1st and St Michaels finished 2nd.

Stewarts Hospital received a bye to the 5th/6th play-off final while Newpark Rovers edged out Brian Corbett PI in a close 2-1 victory.

Both semi-finals were closely contested; Dun Argyle having gone ahead early on, continued to soak up the pressure and hit Monkstown Warriors on the counter. At 3-2 Dun Argyle were fortunate to score as the ball was deflected to wrong foot the goalie and make it 2-4. With a minute to go, Monkstown Warriors scored again to make it 3-4 but Dun Argyle held out for the win. In the other semi, Rage Squad were held to a 1-0 lead by St Michaels right up to the end and as St Michaels looked to get on even terms, were hit on the break twice to eventually lose 3-0.

The 5th placed final was won by Newpark Rovers by a narrow 5-4 victory with Killian Sunderman netting 4 times. The 3rd placed final saw Monkstown Warriors pair up against St Michaels for a rematch of the group game which finished 4-5 to Monkstown Warriors. This time however, it all finished 4 a piece and the match and title of 3rd place was to be settled by penalties. With both keepers saving, St Michaels finally emerged as victors winning 3-2.

In the final, the sides had already met in the group round and Dun Argyle had been well and truly beaten 9-4 by Rage Squad. However, Dun Argyle played this one a lot tighter and despite going one down, continued to hold off their opponents. Rage Squad scored a second and seemed to be comfortable as time ticked on and they were set to win the game. Both sides were suffering from fatigue yet the final few minutes Dun Argyle threw everything into attack. Both keepers made some great saves to keep the score down and Dun Argyle scored to pull one back. In the last minute, captain Dean Eaton scored to equalise and force the game into penalties. Despite the remarkable come-back, Dun Argyle missed their second penalty to lose 3-1.

Player of the Tournament went to Pablo Barreal of Dun Argyle. Top Goal Scorer went to Darragh Robinson with 11 goals and Best Goalkeeper went to Conor Robinson, both from Rage Squad.

FAQs | Terms and Conditions | Testimonials | Privacy | Insurance | First Aid | Site Map

Football, Hockey, Dodgeball, Running and other Tournaments
Numerous venues from Barcelona to Bratislava, Dublin, Lisbon, Madrid and Prague.
More venues and tournaments added when appropriate.

Copyright © 2010–2019 Tournament Heaven. All Rights Reserved.

Website by Albatross Web Design